Members remove Muduru, elect Faruk as new Katsina assembly speaker

By Haruna Musawa, Katsina
Members of the Katsina State House of Assembly has impeached their Speaker, Alhaji Aliyu Muduru.
At plenary at the assembly held on Wednesday, he was removed from office by 23 out 34 members and was replaced by Yahya Abubakar.
The House Majority Leader, Alhaji Hanbali Faruk, representing Katsina Constituency, moved the motion for the impeachment, and was seconded by member representing Funtua Constituency, Alhaji Abubakar Total.
23 out of the 34 members voted in favour of the impeachment and removal of the speaker.
The lawmakers also elected Alhaji Yahya Abubakar from Kusada Constituency as the new Speaker.
The speaker was sworn in during the session.
Similarly, the House Chief Whip, Alhaji Bishir Mamman Dutsin-ma was also removed and replaced with the member representing Daura constituency, Alhaji Nasir Yahaya.

Facebook Comments

Check Also

Ekiti state University student attempts suicide over his failure in one of his courses (photo)

A final year Accounting student of the Ekiti State University who was involved in the ...

Ondo State governor, Rotimi Akeredolu sacks nine permanent secretaries

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has reportedly ordered nine permanent secretaries in the state ...

%d bloggers like this: