Sokoto governor, Tambuwal swears-in new LG chairmen

By Musa Gada, Sokoto 

Sokoto Governor, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal has sworn-in all the 20 newly-elected local government chairmen with a call on them to shun corrupt tendencies and work for the development of their respective areas. 

Speaking at the event which held at the Government House in Sokoto, Tambuwal said the priority for the new chairmen should be in key areas like education, agriculture, healthcare delivery, enhancement of law and order and women and youth development. 

Other areas of focus according to Tambuwal, should be revenue generation and infrastructural development. 

“To ensure good governance, you have to be open and approachable by all. You must also endeavour to carry your Councillors, Traditional Rulers and all Public Servants along if you are to succeed,” the Governor said. 

According to him, despite the prevailing economic challenges being experienced in the country, the elected chairmen should endeavour to propel sustainable development in all possible ways. 

The event which saw large turnout of family, friends and well-wishers, was attended by the Sultan of Sokoto, Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar, Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko and other traditional, religious and political leaders in the state. 

Those sworn-in are Alhaji Ibrahim Aminu for Sokoto North LGA, Aminu Sani Liman for Sokoto South, Ahmad Kalambaina (Wamakko), Alhaji Jabbi Shagari (Shagari) and Abubakar Chika (Silame). 

Others are Mande Dantasalla for Dange Shuni LGA, Umar Danhabi for Binji, Abubakar Aliyu Tsara for Bodinga and Abdullahi Ahmad for Gada local council. 

Also to take oath of office were Faruk Rimawa for Goronyo LGA, Abdullahi Haruna for Illela, Garba Moyi for Isa, Abubakar Zamau for Kware and Awalu Marafa for Kebbe LGA. 

The rest are Abdulkadir Jelani for Wurno, Muhammad Sani for Yabo, Salisu Gandi for Rabah, Idris Muhammad for Sabon Birni, Abubakar Zaki for Tambuwal, Nura Shehu for Tangaza and Abubakar Aliyu, former Speaker of the state House of Assembly who emerged as the new chairman of Tureta LGA. 

Election into Gudu LGA is expected to take place in due course. However, Engr Maidamma Tangaza was sworn-in as Sole Administrator of the local government pending the election.

Facebook Comments

Check Also

Ondo State governor, Rotimi Akeredolu sacks nine permanent secretaries

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has reportedly ordered nine permanent secretaries in the state ...

We arrested 2,175 kidnapping suspects, others in two months – Police IG

The Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, on Wednesday gave an update on the Operation Puff ...

%d bloggers like this: