Oyo assembly extends tenure of LG & LCDAs chairmen

The Oyo State House of Assembly has extended tenure of Local Government and Local Council Development Areas in Oyo State for another four months.

The extension followed a letter received from the executive arm of government requesting the extension of the tenure of the said Caretaker Chairmen having expired today.

The House equally received another letter from the executive for the appointment of Caretaker chairmen for the remaining local government and Local Council Development Areas that were affected by the case instituted by some Baales in Oyo town.

It would be recalled that the federal high court sitting in Abuja recently vacated the other in respect of the conduct of the local government election in Oyo State.

The two letters written by the executive and read on they plenary by the Speaker, Hon. Michael Adesina Adeyemo were asking for the renewal of the tenure of the caretaker chairmen and appointment of new Caretaker chairmen for the eleven local government and local council development areas that are yet to have caretaker chairmen for four months only.

The House has equally directed the new Caretaker chairmen that their names were read by the house to report to the office of the Clerk of the House with photocopies of their credentials for screening by the House committee on local government and Chieftaincy Matters tomorrow 8th November, 2017 while the committee was directed to submit its report of the screening to the House on Thursday 9th November, 2017.

The nominee for the other local government areas are Irepo local government- Adediran Asitu, Afijio Local Government-Remi Adeniyi, Atiba Local Government- Okeniyi Gbolagade, Oyo West local government- Oladeji Tajudeen Olabisi, Oriire Local Government-Odekanmi Olayinka and Oyo East Local Government-Babatunde Abiodun Adebayo.

The nominee for local council development areas include, Asabari LCDA – Akano Nathaniel Idowu, Afijio West LCDA – Tunde Ojo, So to LCDA – Oyelayo Sunday Ajiboye, Oyo South East LCDA- Tiamiyu Taiwo, Oyo South West LCDA-Jelili Abiola, Oriire South LCDA-Jacob Bamgboye, Lagelu West LCDA-Aransi Akeem while Oriire North LCDA is yet to be nominated for confirmation.


Facebook Comments

Check Also

Ekiti state University student attempts suicide over his failure in one of his courses (photo)

A final year Accounting student of the Ekiti State University who was involved in the ...

Ondo State governor, Rotimi Akeredolu sacks nine permanent secretaries

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has reportedly ordered nine permanent secretaries in the state ...

%d bloggers like this: