Are you a Nigerian University Administrator?   Then, you must read this:

Agbakoba, Jega, others to attend post-humous lecture for Momoh

By Mukaila Akodu, Lagos

The immediate past Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega, a former national President of the Nigeria Bar Association (NBA), Mr. Olisa Agbakoba are some of the guests scheduled to attend a post humous lecture in honour of Prof. Abubakar Momoh, a former Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences of the Lagos State University on Monday.

Others invited include Prof. Adele Jinadu, a former Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences, LASU, Prof. Tunde Babawale, a former Director General, Centre for Black African Arts and Civilisation (CBAAC), and Prof. Kayode Soremekun, Vice Chancellor, Federal University Oye, Ekiti.

A statement issued by the Acting Head of Department of Political Science, Sylvester Odion Akhaineon Friday said Momoh was being remembered for his contribution to the Department of Political Science in the school.

According to Akhaine, the lecture on “Pan-Africanism Today” will be delivered by Prof. Georges Nzongola-Ntalaja of the Centre for African, African-American and Diaspora Studies, University of North Carolina, United States.

Nongola-Ntalaja is the author of “Revolution and Counter-Revolution in Africa”, “Africa in the New Millennium”, “From Zaire to the Democratic Republic of the Congo”.

He is also the author of “The Congo from Leopold to Kabila: A People’s History”, “Patrice Lumumba: Democracy and Development in Africa”, “A Tribute to Claude Ake”.

Momoh, who died in May after a brief illness in Abuja, was the pioneer Director-General of The Electoral Institute (TEI), the intellectual arm of INEC.

He obtained his Ph.D in Political Theory and started his career as a lecturer in 1988.

He served on various boards and committees including those of the Centre for Democracy and Development (CDD) and Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA).

He was the Vice President of African Association of Political Science (AAPS) and the National Treasurer, Academic Staff Union of Universities (1991-1995).

According to Akhaine, Professors Lanre Fagbohun and Elias Wahab, Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences in LASU, respectively, will host the guests.


Facebook Comments

Check Also

Police arrest 11 suspects for allegedly burning shops, houses in Ibadan

e The Police Command in Oyo State said on Sunday that it had arrested 11 ...

Why Nigeria May Face Another Round Of Recession In 2019 – Economist

Economist Predicts Nigeria Economy In 2019. An economist, Chika Onuegbu, has noted that some economic indicators ...

%d bloggers like this: