FG establishes new Air Force bases in Owerri, Katsina, Ilesa, others

By Isa Argungu, Gusau
The Federal Government has established eight new Air Force bases across the country in its bid to curb rising security challenges in the country.
Making the disclosure on Friday was the Minister of Defence, Brigadier-General Mansur Dan-Ali in Gusau, the Zamfara State capital.
He said that the new Airforce bases were located in Owerri, Ekiti, Katsina, Bauchi, Jos, Ilesha, Yola and Zamfara, and with the headquarters in Bauchi.
Dan-Ali made the assertion at the inauguration of the 207 Quick Response Group of the Nigerian Air force (NAF) in Gusau on Friday.
Dan-Ali assured of the federal government’s commitment toward the capacity building of the armed forces.
He also said that government was committed to deploying resources toward the productive sector to revive the nation’s economy and reduce unemployment and that government was prepared to use resources from any part of the country.
Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Abubakar Sadiq, said the establishment of the additional air force bases was due to the increasing security challenges not only in Zamfara but the nation as a whole.
He said the Nigerian army had been doing everything possible to put the situation under control.
Governor Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara said the event was coming at the right time when bandits and other security challenges were facing not only the state but the entire region.
He commended the federal government’s efforts to restore peace to the region and assured of the state government’s commitment toward providing the necessary support.

Facebook Comments

Check Also

Obiano set to be declared for 2nd term

Anambra governorship election results Posted By The Nation Idemili South LG 12 RAsb Registered voter ...

Success is easily attainable than greatness – Osinbajo

By Popoola Wasiu Bamidele   My honest advise, Pls read and pass to the young ...