INEC declares APC winner of Imo north senatorial rerun

By Achike Uchenna, Owerri

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Ben Uwajumogu the winner of Imo North Senatorial District rerun election held on July 28. According to INEC, Uwajumogu scored 56,076 votes to defeat the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr. Athan Achonu who scored 43, 815 votes of the votes cast.

INEC’s Returning Officer for Imo North Senatorial District, Arinze Agbogu, who announced the result on Friday, said the outcome was a summation of scores of July 23 and that of July 28 exercise.

The winner, Uwajumogu, had scored 48,921 on July 23, while Mr. Achonu of the PDP scored 40, 142 votes which made INEC to declare the rerun inconclusive.

The returning officer said available data before him showed that Mr. Uwajumogu had majority of lawful votes cast, and therefore returned elected for the Imo North Senatorial District.

Similarly, INEC declared Nkenna Nzeruo of the APC winner of Oru East State Constituency, while Collins Chiji also of APC was declared winner for Isiala Mbano State Constituency.

The two state constituencies’ elections were equally declared inconclusive due to reported cases of violence that marred the exercise in some communities in the two areas on July 23.

Mr. Uwajumogu told journalists in Owerri that he was highly elated by the victory, adding “my gratitude goes more to Gov. Rochas Okorocha whose structure helped me to win this senatorial election’’.

Facebook Comments

Check Also

I’ll take PDP back to the people if elected chairman, says Daniel

A National Chairmanship aspirant in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Chief Gbenga Daniel has promised ...

We won’t succumb to APC’s harassment, say PDP

The opposition, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has accused the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) led ...